Department of Physics and Astronomy
2014 - 2015
Committee Area of Responsibility Chair Members
Planning Advises the department head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches. Thomas Papenbrock Elbio Dagotto, Norman Mannella, Tony Mezzacappa, Kate Grzywacz-Jones, Stefan Spanier
Academic Program Review (ad hoc) Assist the department head in the preparation for the 2015 academic program review. Hanno Weitering Thomas Papenbrock, Marianne Breining, Jim Parks, Mike Roach, Catherine Longmire
Faculty Promotion, Tenure & Awards Review and recommendation of faculty retention, tenure, promotion and awards. Yuri Kamychkov Adolfo Eguiluz, Geoff Greene, Mike Guidry, Tom Handler, Adriana Moreo.
Undergraduate Curriculum Majors Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors Kate Grzywacz- Jones Marianne Breinig, Geoff Greene, Jon Levin, Norman Mannella, Christine Nattrass, George Siopsis
Undergraduate Curriculum Non-Majors Curriculum for general education and service courses Jon Levin Marianne Breinig, Yuri Efremenko,  Jaewook Joo, Jaan Mannik, Haidong Zhou
Astronomy task force Organization and coordination of outreach activities; Integration of planetarium programming and astronomy instruction. Raph Hix  Paul Lewis, Jim Parks, Nadia Fomin, Kate Jones
Graduate Studies Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs Norman Mannella Marianne Breinig, Adolfo Eguiluz, Robert Grzywacz,  Thomas Papenbrock, Lloyd Davis (UTSI), George Siopsis, and Stefan Spanier
Departmental Undergraduate Advising  Advise undergraduate physics and engineering physics majors Stu Elston Jon Levin, Christine Nattrass, Adriana Moreo, Mike Guidry
Undergraduate Student Liaison Advice the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program President of SPS  
Teaching Evaluations Advice the Department Head on issues related to the quality of departmental teaching efforts and, if needed, evaluate individual faculty member's teaching Marianne  Breinig Adolfo Eguiluz, George Siopsis, Tony Mezzacappa, Soren Sorensen
Graduate Student Recruitment and Admission Recruiment of graduate students. Recommendation the the Department Head of admission of students to the graduate program. Marianne  Breinig  Yuri Efremenko, Adriana Moreo, Lucas Platter, and Haidong Zhou
Graduate Student Liaison Advice the Department Head on issues related to the graduate program President of GPS  
Student Appeals Review Review student complaints as final step of appeals process Stu Elston Marianne Breinig, Jon Levin
Endowment Development and Alumni Relations Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives Lee Riedinger Jim Parks, Soren Sorensen, Catherine Longmire
Shop Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services Robert Grzywacz Jim Parks, Stu Elston, Geoff Greene, Yuri Kamyshkov, and Jaan Mannik
Bylaws Task Force Review and update the departmental bylaws Geoff Greene Elbio Dagotto, Tom Handler, and Soren Sorensen