Department of Physics and Astronomy
2019 - 2020
Assignment Responsibilities Responsible Person
Associate Department Head Assists the Department Head with various aspects of departmental  administration. Marianne Breinig, Kate Jones
Astronomy outreach and planetarium use Make presentations on astronomy and related topics to schools and civic organizations; astronomy observations for general education courses and the public Paul Lewis, Sean Lindsay
Building Representative Departmental contact concerning physics space issues Christine Cheney, Kate Jones
College Curriculum Committee: Natural Sciences Divison Development and review of college curriculum tbd
College Promotion and Tenure Committee Advise the Dean on tenure and promotion no representation
Colloquia Be responsible for organizing, implementing, and coordinating departmental colloquia Mike Guidy (Fall),                          Lucas Platter (Spring)
Commencement - Fall 2019 Participate in the commencement ceremonies as arranged by the university and the college  Adriana Moreo, Yuri Efremenko, Marianne Breinig
Commencement - Spring 2020 Participate in the commencement ceremonies as arranged by the university and the college  Norman Mannella, George Siopsis, Ken Read
Arts and Sciences Advisory Council Serve as the Department of Physics and Astronomy's representative to the Advisory Council for the College of Arts and Sciences Lucas Platter
Dean's Student Advisory Council Serve as the Department's representative(s) to the Dean's Student Advisory Council. tba
Director of Graduate Program Coordinate the activities of the committees on graduate affairs; graduate studies, graduate recruitment, graduate admissions, graduate student progress, and graduate student liaison brochure, qualifying examination. Marianne Breinig
Assistant Director of Graduate Program   Steve Johnston
Director of Undergraduate Program Coordinate the activities of the committees on undergraduate affairs; undergraduate studies, curriculum and advisng. Stu Elston
Assistant Director of Undergraduate program   Christine Nattrass
Diversity Officer Advise the Head with regard to promoting a diverse and inclusive work environment. Soren Sorensen
Environmental Health and Safety Monitor chemical storage and safety, hazardous waste disposal; inform faculty & staff of chemical hazards and procedures for waste disposal Christine Cheney
Faculty Senate Members of the Faculty Senate Soren Sorensen, Yuri Efremenko
GTA Workshop Organize and coordinate the GTA workshop for August 2016 Christine Cheney
Graduate Council Represent the department on UTK's Graduate Council no representation
Graduate research participation seminar-P599 Responsible for this seminar Jian Liu
Honors Day Organize Honors Day program, select speaker, guide process to choose award winners  Catherine Longmire, Christine Cheney, Chrisanne Romeo, Hanno Weitering
Honors Liaison Departmental representative for the University Honors Program Stu Elston
Inventory Be responsible for inventory of equipment Business office
Library Representative Represent the department's book and journal needs to the library Mike Guidry
Open House Organize open house for high school students Kate Jones, Christine Cheney, Catherine Longmire
Ph.D. Qualifying Exams Organize Ph.D. Qualifying Exam committees and maintain responsibility for exam process Marianne Breinig
Publications Coordinator Be responsible for departmental newsletter, brochure, homepage, recruitment, and handbook materials Catherine Longmire
Qualifying Exam AY19/20 Develop and grade the two annual Qualifying Exams for the Doctoral Program (3 yr term starting August 2019) Marianne Breinig (chair), Elbio Dagotto, Haidong Zhou, Nadia Fomin, Miguel Madurga, Christine Nattrass, Raph Hix, George Siopsis, Stefan Spanier
Qualifying Exam AY20/21 Develop and grade the two annual Qualifying Exams for the Doctoral Program () Marianne Breinig (chair), Lloyd Davis, Adolfo Eguiluz, Steve Johnston, Lucas Platter, Norman Mannella, Tony Mezzacappa, Thomas Papenbrock, Soren Sorensen
Radiation Safety Monitor and report usage and/or transport of radioactive materials Kate Jones, Christine Cheney
Research Council Represent the department on UTK's Research Council Soren Sorensen, Yuri Efremenko
Seminars in Nuclear Physics-P599 Responsible for this seminar Fall - Miguel Madurga                Spring - tba
Seminars in Condensed Matter Physics-P599 Responsible for this seminar Fall -   Steve Johnston                                  Spring -  Adolfo Eguiluz
Seminars in High energy and Astrophysics-P599 Responsible for this seminar 2019 Fall - Tony Mezzacappa                                       2020 Spring -
Society of Physics Students Advisor Work with officers of SPS, select members for Sigma Pi Sigma, and coordinate activities of Sigma Pi Sigma Max Lavrentovich
Surplusing Be responsible for disposal of equipment and clearing inventory records Brad Gardner and Paul Lewis
Undergraduate Council Represent the department on UTK's Undergraduate Council Nadia Fomin, Christine Nattrass