Department of Physics and Astronomy
Committee Area of Responsibility Chair Members
Planning Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches Thomas Papenbrock Cristian Batista, Elbio Dagotto, Jaan Mannik, Tony Mezzacappa, Kate Jones, Stefan Spanier
Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion Adriana Moreo Adolfo Eguiluz, Geoff Greene, Mike Guidry, Robert Grzywacz, Yuri Kamyshkov
Departmental Community Committee Implement diversity plan Adriana Moreo Cristian Batista, Adrian Del Maestro, Nadia Fomin, Tova Holmes, Kate Jones, Sean Lindsay, Catherine Longmire, graduate student (tba)
Awards Committee Award nominations for faculty and staff Soren Sorensen Elbio Dagotto, Raph Hix, Stefan Spanier 
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors Tony Mezzacappa Kate Jones, Max Lavrentovich, Norman Mannella, Lucas Platter, Christine Nattrass (ex-officio)
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses Curriculum for general education and service courses Yuri Efremenko Marianne Breinig, Christine Cheney, Jian Liu, Andrew Steiner, Margie Abdelrazek, Nau Raj Pokhrel
Astronomy Curriculum Committee  Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium Sean Lindsay Paul Lewis, Raph Hix, Christine Cheney, Andrew Steiner
Graduate Curriculum Committee Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs Thomas Papenbrock Cristian Batista, Steve Johnston (ex-officio), Stefan Spanier, Andrew Steiner, graduate student representative
Departmental Undergraduate Advising  Advise undergraduate physics Christine Nattrass  Adriana Moreo, Mike Guidry, Norman Mannella, Haidong Zhou, Jaan Mannik, Jian Liu, Lucas Platter
Undergraduate Scholarships Select scholarship applicants Max Lavrentovich Catherine Longmire, Nadia Fomin, Miguel Madurga
Graduate Student Liason Advise the Department Head on issues related to the graduate program GPS President  
Undergraduate Student Liaison Advise the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program President of SPS  
Peer Teaching Evaluations Peer evaluation of faculty teaching Marianne  Breinig Adolfo Eguiluz, George Siopsis, Tony Mezzacappa, Thomas Papenbrock, Soren Sorensen, Geoff Greene, Raph Hix
Graduate Student Recruitment and Admissions Recruiment of graduate students.  Admission to the graduate program. Steve Johnston  Mike Fitzsimmons, Nadia Fomin, Mike Guidry, Jaan Mannik, Andrew Steiner, Haidong Zhou 
Graduate Advising Administer and evaluate placement exams for new graduate students; graduate advising Norman Mannella Adolfo Eguiluz, George Siopsis, Andrew Steiner
Student Appeals Review Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process Yuri Kamyshkov  Marianne Breinig, Ken Read
Endowment Development and Alumni Relations Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives Hanno Weitering Catherine Longmire
Lounge Committee Promote social activities Lucas Platter Miguel Madurga, Showni Medlin, graduate and undergraduate student representatives
Shop Committee Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services Robert Grzywacz Geoff Greene, Kate Jones (ex-officio), Yuri Kamyshkov, Jaan Mannik
Bylaw Review Committee Review and update the departmental bylaws Soren Sorensen Elbio Dagotto, Geoff Greene, Robert Grzywacz