Skip to content

Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

In 2001 the department's chapter of the Society of Physics Students awarded the first SPS Teacher of the Year Award to recognize an outstanding professor as selected by the undergraduate students. The Graduate Physics Society also selects an outstanding graduate teacher.

Sean Lindsay  2023: Sean Lindsay (tie)

Steve Johnston  2023: Steven Johnston (Graduate Teaching)

Elbio Dagotto  2021: Elbio Dagotto

Elbio Dagotto  2019: Elbio Dagotto

Lucas Platter 2017: Lucas Platter

Jaewook Joo 2015: Jaewook Joo

Soren Sorensen 2013: Soren Sorensen

Geoff Greene 2011: Geoff Greene

Thomas Papenbrock 2009: Thomas Papenbrock

Alex Zucker 2007: Alex Zucker

Marianne Breinig 2005: Marianne Breinig (tie)

Ted Barnes 2005: Ted Barnes (Graduate Teaching)

Jon Levin 2004: Jon Levin (tie)

Stuart Elston 2002: Stuart Elston

Elbio Dagotto  2023: Elbio Dagotto (tie)

Larry Lee  2022: Larry Lee

Stuart Elston  2020: Stuart Elston

Maxim Lavrentovich  2018: Maxim Lavrentovich

Christine Nattrass 2016: Christine Nattrass

Anthony Mezzacappa 2014: Anthony Mezzacappa

Norman Mannella 2012: Norman Mannella

Robert Compton 2010: Robert Compton

Soren Sorensen 2008: Soren Sorensen

Michael Guidry 2006: Michael Guidry

Kermit Duckett 2005: Kermit Duckett (tie)

Marianne Breinig 2004: Marianne Breinig (tie)

Jim Thompson 2003: Jim Thompson

Jim Thompson 2001: Jim Thompson

See our other departmental awards for undergraduates, graduate students, service to our teaching labs and tutoring program, and distinguished alumni.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.