The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Physics Header physics


physics faculty image

Faculty and Lecturers

Note: The area code for Knoxville and Oak Ridge is 865. Nielsen is the Nielsen Physics Building and SERF refers to the Science & Engineering Research Facility. These and all other campus buildings can be located using the university's campus map. ORNL is Oak Ridge National Laboratory and UTSI is the UT Space Institute in Tullahoma.

  Research Area Office Phone E-Mail
abdelrazekMargie Abdelrazek
  214 Nielsen 974-6180
breinigMarianne Breinig
Associate Head
Director of Graduate Program
Atomic Physics/Physics Education 202 Nielsen 974-7842
comptonRobert Compton
Experimental Chemical Physics 414 SERF/619 Buehler Hall 974-9513 or 974-1602 or 974-6172 (lab)
craterHorace Crater
Theoretical Physics UTSI 931-393-7469
dagottoElbio Dagotto
Distinguished Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 302 South College 974-2122
dauntSteve Daunt
Physics Education/Molecular Spectroscopy Medical Physics/Astronomy 218 Nielsen 974-7847
davisLloyd Davis
Experimental, Interdisciplinary, and Numerical Physics UTSI 931-393-7335
efremenkoYuri Efremenko
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Neutrino Physics 503 Nielsen/ORNL 974-7857 or 574-4706
eguiluzAdolfo Eguiluz
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 202 South College 974-6182 or 574-5783
elstonStuart Elston
Experimental Atomic Physics/Engineering Physics/Physics Education 216 Nielsen 974-7818
fominNadia Fomin
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear/Neutron Physics 407B Nielsen 974-1509
greeneGeoff Greene
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Neutron Physics 515 Nielsen/ORNL 974-0673 or 574-8435
grzywaczRobert Grzywacz
Experimental Nuclear Physics
Director, Joint Institute of Nuclear Physics and Applications
613 SERF/ORNL 974-2918 or 574-4732
guidryMichael Guidry
Nuclear Astrophysics 308 South College 974-7810
handlerThomas Handler
Experimental High Energy Physics 504 Nielsen 974-7820
hixWilliam R. Hix (Raph)
Associate Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 607B Nielsen 974-5913
johnstonSteven Johnston
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 406A Nielsen 974-7837
jonesKate Jones
Associate Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 611 SERF 974-4022
jooJaewook Joo
Assistant Professor
Biophysics 211 South College 974-6127
kamyshkovYuri Kamyshkov
Experimental High Energy Physics 505 Nielsen/603 SERF 974-6777
levinJon Levin
Director of Undergraduate Program
Experimental Atomic Physics/Physics Education M-3 Nielsen 974-8705
mannellaNorman Mannella
Associate Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 406B Nielsen 974-6123
mannikJaan Mannik
Assistant Professor
Biophysics 210 Nielsen 974-6018
mezzacappaAnthony Mezzacappa
Newton W. and Wilma C. Thomas Endowed Chair
Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics
Director, Joint Institute for Computational Sciences
206 South College/ORNL 574-6113
moreoAdriana Moreo
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoetical Condensed Matter Physics 303 South College 974-2084
nattrassChristine Nattrass
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 609 SERF 974-6211 or 241-9709
papenbrockThomas Papenbrock
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 106 South College/ORNL 974-3128 or 574-4577
pariggerChristian Parigger
Associate Professor
Laser, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics UTSI 931-393-7509
parksJames Parks
Associate Head
Director of Undergraduate Laboratories
Atomic Physics 404B Nielsen 974-8952
platterLucas Platter
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 104 South College 974-4375
quinnJohn Quinn
Willis Lincoln Chair of Excellence
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 210 South College 974-4089
readKenneth Read
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Nuclear Physics 309 Nielsen/ORNL 974-3027 or 574-5347
riedingerLee Riedinger
Bredesen Center Director
Experimental Nuclear Physics 441 Greve Hall 719-4898
siopsisGeorge Siopsis
Theoretical High Energy Physics M104 Nielsen 974-7846
sorensenSoren Sorensen
Experimental Nuclear Physics 607 SERF 386-7051
spanierStefan Spanier
Experimental High Energy Physics 502 Nielsen 974-0597
steinerAndrew Steiner
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 103 South College 974-5379
weiteringHanno Weitering
Department Head
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Deputy Director, Joint Institute for Advanced Materials
401 Nielsen 974-7841
zhouHaidong Zhou
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 407A Nielsen 974-6019

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

binghamCarrol Bingham
blassBill Blass
buggBill Bugg or 974-7799
callcottThomas Callcott
childersBob Childers condoGeorge Condo
deedsEd Deeds georchiouSolon Georghiou
painterLinda Painter
peggDavid Pegg
macekJoe Macek
sellinIvan Sellin
shihC.C. Shih
thompsonJim Thompson


Contribute to a big idea. Give to UT Physics.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System