The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Physics Header physics


Faculty

physics faculty image

Faculty and Lecturers

Note: The area code for Knoxville and Oak Ridge is 865. Nielsen is the Nielsen Physics Building and SERF refers to the Science & Engineering Research Facility. These and all other campus buildings can be located using the university's campus map. ORNL is Oak Ridge National Laboratory and UTSI is the UT Space Institute in Tullahoma.

  Research Area Office Phone E-Mail
abdelrazekMargie Abdelrazek
Lecturer
  214 Nielsen 974-6180 mabdelr1@utk.edu
breinigMarianne Breinig
Professor
Associate Head
Director of Graduate Program
Atomic Physics/Physics Education 202 Nielsen 974-7842 mbreinig@utk.edu
cheneyChristine Cheney
Lecturer
  312 Nielsen 974-2631 ccheney@utk.edu
dagottoElbio Dagotto
Distinguished Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 302 South College 974-2122 edagotto@utk.edu
davisLloyd Davis
Professor
Experimental, Interdisciplinary, and Numerical Physics UTSI 931-393-7335 ldavis@utsi.edu
efremenkoYuri Efremenko
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Neutrino Physics 503 Nielsen/ORNL 974-7857 or 574-4706 yefremen@utk.edu
eguiluzAdolfo Eguiluz
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 202 South College 974-6182 or 574-5783 eguiluz@utk.edu
elstonStuart Elston
Professor
Experimental Atomic Physics/Engineering Physics/Physics Education 216 Nielsen 974-7818 selston@utk.edu
fominNadia Fomin
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear/Neutron Physics 407B Nielsen 974-1509 nfomin@utk.edu
greeneGeoff Greene
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Neutron Physics 515 Nielsen/ORNL 974-0673 or 574-8435 ggreene@utk.edu
grzywaczRobert Grzywacz
Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics
Director, Joint Institute of Nuclear Physics and Applications
613 SERF/ORNL 974-2918 or 574-4732 rgrzywac@utk.edu
guidryMichael Guidry
Professor
Nuclear Astrophysics 308 South College 974-7810 guidry@utk.edu
handlerThomas Handler
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 504 Nielsen 974-7820 thandler@utk.edu
hixWilliam R. Hix (Raph)
Associate Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 310A South College 974-5913 raph@utk.edu
johnstonSteven Johnston
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 203 South College 974-7837 sjohn145@utk.edu
jonesKate Jones
Associate Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 611 SERF 974-4022 kgrzywac@utk.edu
jooJaewook Joo
Assistant Professor
Biophysics 211 South College 974-6127 jjoo1@utk.edu
kamyshkovYuri Kamyshkov
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 505 Nielsen/603 SERF 974-6777 kamyshkov@utk.edu
levinJon Levin
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Program
Experimental Atomic Physics/Physics Education M-3 Nielsen 974-8705 jlevin@utk.edu
lindsaySean Lindsay
Lecturer/Astronomy Coordinator
  215 Nielsen 974-2362 slindsay@utk.edu
liu Jian Liu
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter 406A Nielsen 974-3055 jianliu@utk.edu
mannellaNorman Mannella
Associate Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 406B Nielsen 974-6123 nmannell@utk.edu
mannikJaan Mannik
Assistant Professor
Biophysics 210 Nielsen 974-6018 jmannik@utk.edu
mezzacappaAnthony Mezzacappa
Newton W. and Wilma C. Thomas Endowed Chair
Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics
Director, Joint Institute for Computational Sciences
206 South College/ORNL 574-6113 mezz@tennessee.edu
moreoAdriana Moreo
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoetical Condensed Matter Physics 303 South College 974-2084 amoreo@utk.edu
nattrassChristine Nattrass
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 609 SERF 974-6211 or 241-9709 cnattras@utk.edu
papenbrockThomas Papenbrock
Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 106 South College/ORNL 974-3128 or 574-4577 tpapenbr@utk.edu
pariggerChristian Parigger
Associate Professor
Laser, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics UTSI 931-393-7509 cparigge@tennessee.edu
parksJames Parks
Associate Head
Director of Undergraduate Laboratories
Atomic Physics 404B Nielsen 974-8952 jeparks@utk.edu
platterLucas Platter
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 104 South College 974-4375 lplatter@utk.edu
readKenneth Read
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Nuclear Physics 309 Nielsen/ORNL 974-3027 or 574-5347 kfread@utk.edu
riedingerLee Riedinger
Professor
Bredesen Center Director
Experimental Nuclear Physics 441 Greve Hall 719-4898 lrieding@utk.edu
siopsisGeorge Siopsis
Professor
Theoretical High Energy Physics M104 Nielsen 974-7846 gsiopsis@utk.edu
sorensenSoren Sorensen
Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 607 SERF 386-7051 sorensen@utk.edu
spanierStefan Spanier
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 502 Nielsen 974-0597 sspanier@utk.edu
steinerAndrew W. Steiner
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 103 South College 974-5379 awsteiner@utk.edu
weiteringHanno Weitering
Department Head
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Deputy Director, Joint Institute for Advanced Materials
401 Nielsen 974-7841 hanno@utk.edu
zhouHaidong Zhou
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 407A Nielsen 974-6019 hzhou10@utk.edu

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

binghamCarrol Bingham
cbingham@utk.edu
blassBill Blass
wblass@utk.edu
buggBill Bugg
bugg@utk.edu or 974-7799
callcottThomas Callcott
tomc@utk.edu
childersBob Childers comptonBob Compton
rcompton@utk.edu
condoGeorge Condo craterHorace Crater
hcrater@utsi.edu
dauntSteve Daunt
sdaunt@utk.edu
deedsEd Deeds georghiouSolon Georghiou
sgeorghi@utk.edu
macekJoe Macek
jmacek@utk.edu
painterLinda Painter
lpainter@utk.edu
peggDavid Pegg
djpegg@utk.edu
peggJohn Quinn
jjquinn@utk.edu
sellinIvan SellinshihC.C. Shih
ccshih@utk.edu
thompsonJim Thompson
jrt@utk.edu



 

Contribute to a big idea. Give to UT Physics.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System