The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Physics Header physics


Faculty

physics faculty image

Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, and Lecturers

Name Title Research Area Office Phone E-Mail
Margie Abdelrazek Lecturer   214 Nielsen Physics Building 974-6180 mabdelr1@utk.edu
Marianne Breinig Professor and Associate Head; Director of Graduate Program Atomic Physics/Physics Education 202 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7842 mbreinig@utk.edu
Robert Compton Professor Experimental Chemical Physics 414 SERF/619 Buehler Hall 974-9513 or 974-1602 or 974-6172 (lab) rcompton@utk.edu
Horace Crater Professor Theoretical Physics UT Space Institute (Tullahoma) 931-393-7469 hcrater@utsi.edu
Elbio Dagotto Distinguished Professor Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 302 South College 974-2122 edagotto@utk.edu
Steve Daunt Lecturer Physics Education/Molecular Spectroscopy Medical Physics/Astronomy 218 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7847 sdaunt@utk.edu
Lloyd Davis Professor Experimental, Interdisciplinary, and Numerical Physics UT Space Institute (Tullahoma) 931-393-7335 ldavis@utsi.edu
Yuri Efremenko Professor (Joint Faculty) Neutrino Physics 503 Nielsen Physics Building/ORNL 974-7857 or 574-4706 yefremen@utk.edu
Adolfo Eguiluz Professor (Joint Faculty) Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 202 South College 974-6182 or 574-5783 eguiluz@utk.edu
Stuart Elston Professor Experimental Atomic Physics/Engineering Physics 216 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7818 selston@utk.edu
Nadia Fomin Assistant Professor Experimental Nuclear/Neutron Physics 407B Nielsen Physics Building 974-1509 nfomin@utk.edu
Geoff Greene Professor (Joint Faculty) Experimental Neutron Physics 515 Nielsen Physics Building/ORNL 974-0673 or 574-8435 ggreene@utk.edu
Robert Grzywacz Professor Experimental Nuclear Physics 613 SERF/ORNL 974-2918 or 574-4732 rgrzywac@utk.edu
Michael Guidry Professor Nuclear Astrophysics 602 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7810 guidry@utk.edu
Thomas Handler Professor Experimental High Energy Physics 504 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7820 thandler@utk.edu
William R. Hix Associate Professor Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 607B Nielsen Physics Building 974-5913 raph@utk.edu
Steven Johnston Assistant Professor Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 406A Nielsen Physics Building 974-7837 sjohn145@utk.edu
Kate Jones Associate Professor Experimental Nuclear Physics 611 SERF 974-4022 kgrzywac@utk.edu
Jaewook Joo Assistant Professor Biophysics 211 South College 974-6127 jjoo1@utk.edu
Yuri Kamyshkov Professor Experimental High Energy Physics 505 Nielsen Physics Building/603 SERF 974-6777 kamyshkov@utk.edu
Jon Levin Professor and Director of Undergraduate Program Experimental Atomic Physics M-3 Nielsen Physics Building 974-8705 jlevin@utk.edu
Joseph Macek Distinguished Professor Theoretical Atomic Physics 308 South College 974-0770 or 576-0510 jmacek@utk.edu
Norman Mannella Associate Professor Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 406B Nielsen Physics Building 974-6123 nmannell@utk.edu
Jaan Mannik Assistant Professor Biophysics 210 Nielsen Physics Building 974-6018 jmannik@utk.edu
Tony Mezzacappa Joint Faculty Professor Theoretical Astrophysics Oak Ridge National Laboratory 574-6113 mezzacap@utk.edu
Adriana Moreo Professor (Joint Faculty) Theoetical Condensed Matter Physics 303 South College 974-2084 amoreo@utk.edu
Christine Nattrass Assistant Professor Experimental Nuclear Physics 609 SERF 974-6211 or 241-9709 cnattras@utk.edu
Witold Nazarewicz James McConnell Distinguished Professor Theoretical Nuclear Physics 104 South College/ORNL 974-4375 or 574-4580 witek@utk.edu
Thomas Papenbrock Associate Professor Theoretical Nuclear Physics 106 South College/ORNL 974-3128 or 574-4577 tpapenbr@utk.edu
Christian Parigger Associate Professor Laser, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics UT Space Institute (Tullahoma) 931-393-7509 cparigge@tennessee.edu
James Parks Associate Head and Director of Undergraduate Laboratories Atomic Physics 404B Nielsen Physics Building 974-8952 jeparks@utk.edu
John Quinn Willis Lincoln Chair of Excellence Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 210 South College 974-4089 jjquinn@utk.edu
Kenneth Read Professor (Joint Faculty) Experimental Nuclear Physics 309 Nielsen Physics Building/ORNL 974-3027 or 574-5347 kfread@utk.edu
Lee Riedinger Professor and Bredesen Center Director Experimental Nuclear Physics 441 Greve Hall 719-4898 lrieding@utk.edu
George Siopsis Professor Theoretical High Energy Physics M104 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7846 gsiopsis@utk.edu
Soren Sorensen Professor Experimental Nuclear Physics 607 SERF 974-7805 sorensen@utk.edu
Stefan Spanier Professor Experimental High Energy Physics 502 Nielsen Physics Building 974-0597 sspanier@utk.edu
Hanno Weitering Professor and Head (Joint Faculty) Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 401 Nielsen Physics Building 974-7841 hanno@utk.edu
Haidong Zhou Assistant Professor Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 407A Nielsen Physics Building 974-6019 hzhou10@utk.edu

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Name Office Phone E-Mail
Carrol Bingham cbingham@utk.edu
Bill Blass wblass@utk.edu
Bill Bugg 974-7799 bugg@utk.edu
Thomas Callcott tomc@utk.edu
Bob Childers
George Condo
Ed Deeds
Solon Georghiou 206 Nielsen 974-7826 sgeorghi@utk.edu
Linda Painter lpainter@utk.edu
David Pegg djpegg@utk.edu
Ivan Sellin
C.C. Shih 206 Nielsen 974-7826 ccshih@utk.edu
Jim Thompson 406-A Nielsen jrt@utk.edu

Note: The area code for Knoxville and Oak Ridge is 865. SERF refers to the Science & Engineering Research Facility. This and all other campus buildings can be located using the university's campus map.



 

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System