Skip to content

Undergraduate Physics Scholarships & Support

Departmental Scholarships

The physics department has a limited number of scholarships for outstanding undergraduate candidates who commit to major in physics. Incoming freshmen are eligible to apply.

Complete the application form using a Google Form OR complete the downloadable form and return to
The physics scholarship application deadline is March 11.

What Other Aid is Available?
What are the University's Deadlines?
  • November 1: For priority admission and competitive scholarships
  • December 1: For Tennessee Pledge/UT Promise scholarships
  • December 15: For regular admission and institutional (Volunteer) scholarships

More information is available from UT's Office of Financial Aid

Summer Research Fellowships

The physics department offers financial support for students in the form of fellowships and part-time employment. The Science Alliance Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship program is designed to give outstanding undergraduate students the opportunity to gain experience in physics research. Students learn research procedures and techniques while exchanging ideas and experiences with other program participants, graduate students, and physics faculty. Each research fellow spends 10 weeks working on a full-time research project supervised by a physics faculty member. Dr. Marianne Breinig ( is the contact person for the program. Details of the program are online.

Departmental Employment

Undergraduate physics majors have the opportunity to earn extra money and professional experience by working for the physics department. Responsibilities range from helping with the setup of physics labs to assisting office staff.


Each spring, the department awards distinctive honors to deserving undergraduates: the Outstanding First Year Physics Student, the Douglas V. Roseberry Distinguished Upper Class Major Award, the James W. McConnell Awards, and the Robert Talley Awards for Outstanding Undergraduate Research and Outstanding Undergraduate Leadership. The faculty selects the winners based on student dedication to scholarship, leadership, and excellence.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.