Skip to content

Faculty

Note: The area code for Knoxville and Oak Ridge is 865. Nielsen is the Nielsen Physics Building and SERF refers to the Science & Engineering Research Facility. These and all other campus buildings can be located using the university's campus map. ORNL is Oak Ridge National Laboratory and UTSI is the UT Space Institute in Tullahoma.


    Research Area Office Phone Email
abdelrazek Margie Abdelrazek
Lecturer
  214 Nielsen 974-6180 mabdelr1@utk.edu
cristian Cristian Batista
Lincoln Chair Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 210 South College 974-4164 cbatist2@utk.edu
breinig Marianne Breinig
Professor
Associate Head
Director of Graduate Program
Atomic Physics/Physics Education 202 Nielsen 974-7842 mbreinig@utk.edu
cheney Christine Cheney
Director of Undergraduate Laboratories
  404B Nielsen 974-9811 ccheney@utk.edu
dagotto Elbio Dagotto
Distinguished Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 302 South College 974-2122 edagotto@utk.edu
davis Lloyd Davis
Professor
Experimental, Interdisciplinary, and Numerical Physics UTSI 931-393-7335 ldavis@utsi.edu
efremenko Yuri Efremenko
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Neutrino Physics 503 Nielsen/ORNL 974-7857 or 574-4706 yefremen@utk.edu
eguiluz Adolfo Eguiluz
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 202 South College 974-6182 or 574-5783 eguiluz@utk.edu
elston Stuart Elston
Professor
Experimental Atomic Physics/Engineering Physics/Physics Education 216 Nielsen 974-7818 selston@utk.edu
fitzsimmons Michael Fitzsimmons
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics ORNL (505) 901-0534 mfitzsi1@utk.edu
fomin Nadia Fomin
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear/Neutron Physics 611 SERF 974-1509 nfomin@utk.edu
greene Sowjanya Gollapinni
Assistant Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 515 Nielsen 974-8705 sgollapi@utk.edu
greene Geoff Greene
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Neutron Physics M-3 Nielsen/ORNL 974-0673 or 574-8435 ggreene@utk.edu
gunthoti Kranti Gunthoti
Lecturer
Physics Outreach and Education 602 Nielsen 974-5697 kgunthot@utk.edu
grzywacz Robert Grzywacz
Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics
Director, Joint Institute of Nuclear Physics and Applications
613 SERF/ORNL 974-2918 or 574-4732 rgrzywac@utk.edu
guidry Michael Guidry
Professor
Nuclear Astrophysics 308 South College 974-7810 guidry@utk.edu
handler Thomas Handler
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 504 Nielsen 974-7820 thandler@utk.edu
hix William R. Hix (Raph)
Joint Faculty Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 310A South College 974-5913 raph@utk.edu
johnston Steven Johnston
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 203 South College 974-7837 sjohn145@utk.edu
jones Kate Jones
Professor and Associate Department Head
Experimental Nuclear Physics 407B Nielsen 974-4022 kgrzywac@utk.edu
kamyshkov Yuri Kamyshkov
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 505 Nielsen/603 SERF 974-6777 kamyshkov@utk.edu
lavrentovich Maxim Lavrentovich
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Biophysics 406A Nielsen 974-5947 mlavrent@utk.edu
lindsay Sean Lindsay
Lecturer/Astronomy Coordinator
  215 Nielsen 974-2362 slindsay@utk.edu
liu Jian Liu
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter 217A Nielsen 974-3055 jianliu@utk.edu
madurga Miguel Madurga
Assistant Professor
Low Energy Nuclear Physics 407A Nielsen 974-5957 mmadurga@utk.edu
mannella Norman Mannella
Associate Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 210 Nielsen 974-6123 nmannell@utk.edu
mannik Jaan Mannik
Associate Professor
Biophysics 406B Nielsen 974-6018 jmannik@utk.edu
mezzacappa Anthony Mezzacappa
Newton W. and Wilma C. Thomas Endowed Chair
Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics
Director, Joint Institute for Computational Sciences
206 South College/ORNL 574-6113 mezz@tennessee.edu
moreo Adriana Moreo
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoetical Condensed Matter Physics 303 South College 974-2084 amoreo@utk.edu
nattrass Christine Nattrass
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 609 SERF 974-6211 cnattras@utk.edu
papenbrock Thomas Papenbrock
Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 106 South College/ORNL 974-3128 or 574-4577 tpapenbr@utk.edu
parigger Christian Parigger
Associate Professor
Laser, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics UTSI 931-393-7509 cparigge@tennessee.edu
platter Lucas Platter
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 104 South College 974-4375 lplatter@utk.edu
read Kenneth Read
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Nuclear Physics 309 Nielsen/ORNL 974-3027 or 574-5347 kfread@utk.edu
riedinger Lee Riedinger
Professor
Bredesen Center Director
Experimental Nuclear Physics 441 Greve Hall 719-4898 lrieding@utk.edu
siopsis George Siopsis
Professor
Theoretical High Energy Physics M104 Nielsen 974-7846 gsiopsis@utk.edu
sorensen Soren Sorensen
Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 607 SERF 386-7051 sorensen@utk.edu
spanier Stefan Spanier
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 502 Nielsen 974-0597 sspanier@utk.edu
steiner Andrew W. Steiner
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 103 South College 974-5379 awsteiner@utk.edu
weitering Hanno Weitering
Department Head
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Deputy Director, Joint Institute for Advanced Materials
401 Nielsen 974-7841 hanno@utk.edu
zhou Haidong Zhou
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 217A Nielsen 974-6019 hzhou10@utk.edu

binghamCarrol Bingham
cbingham@utk.edu
buggBill Bugg
bugg@utk.edu
974-7799
callcottThomas Callcott
tomc@utk.edu
childersBob Childers comptonBob Compton
rcompton@utk.edu
condoGeorge Condo
craterHorace Crater
hcrater@utsi.edu
dauntSteve Daunt
sdaunt@utk.edu
Nielsen 208
974-7847
macekJoe Macek
jmacek@utk.edu
parksJames Parks
jeparks@utk.edu
312 Nielsen
974-8952
painterLinda Painter
lpainter@utk.edu
peggDavid Pegg
djpegg@utk.edu
peggJohn Quinn
jjquinn@utk.edu
270 JIAM
sellinIvan Sellin shihC.C. Shih
ccshih@utk.edu
thompsonJim Thompson
jrt@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.