Skip to content

Faculty

Note: The area code for Knoxville and Oak Ridge is 865. Nielsen is the Nielsen Physics Building and SERF refers to the Science & Engineering Research Facility. IAMM is the Institute for Advanced Materials and Manufacturing. These and all other campus buildings can be located using the university's campus map. ORNL is Oak Ridge National Laboratory and UTSI is the UT Space Institute in Tullahoma.


    Research Area Office Phone Email
  Margie Abdelrazek
Senior Lecturer
  216 Nielsen 974-6180 mabdelr1@utk.edu
cristian batista Cristian D. Batista
Lincoln Chair Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 210 South College 974-4164 cbatist2@utk.edu
breinig Marianne Breinig
Professor
Associate Head
Assistant Director of Graduate Program
Physics Education 202 Nielsen 974-7842 mbreinig@utk.edu
cheney Christine Cheney
Director of Undergraduate Laboratories
  404B Nielsen 974-9811 ccheney@utk.edu
dagotto Elbio Dagotto
Distinguished Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 302 South College 974-2122 edagotto@utk.edu
adrian del maestro Adrian Del Maestro
Professor and Department Head
Quantum Materials/Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 401 Nielsen 974-2843 Adrian.DelMaestro@utk.edu
efremenko Yuri Efremenko
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental High Energy Physics 505 Nielsen/ORNL 974-7857 or 574-4706 yefremen@utk.edu
eguiluz Adolfo Eguiluz
Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 202 South College 974-6182 or 574-5783 eguiluz@utk.edu
fitzsimmons Michael Fitzsimmons
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics ORNL (505) 901-0534 mfitzsi1@utk.edu
fomin Nadia Fomin
Associate Professor
Experimental Nuclear/Neutron Physics 611 SERF 974-1509 nfomin@utk.edu
grzywacz Robert Grzywacz
Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics
Director, Joint Institute of Nuclear Physics and Applications
613 SERF/ORNL 974-2918 or 574-4732 rgrzywac@utk.edu
guidry Michael Guidry
Professor
Computational Astrophysics 308 South College 974-7810 guidry@utk.edu
hix William R. Hix (Raph)
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 310A South College 974-5913 raph@utk.edu
holmes Tova Holmes
Assistant Professor
Experimental High Energy Particle Physics 504 Nielsen 974-7820 tholmes@utk.edu
johnston Steven Johnston
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Program
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 502 Nielsen 974-7837 sjohn145@utk.edu
jones Kate Jones
Professor and Associate Department Head
Experimental Nuclear Physics 407B Nielsen 974-4022 kgrzywac@utk.edu
kamyshkov Yuri Kamyshkov
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 505 Nielsen/603 SERF 974-6777 kamyshkov@utk.edu
Wonhee Ko Wonhee Ko
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 203 South College 974-4245 wko@utk.edu
lavrentovich Maxim Lavrentovich
Assistant Professor
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Program
Theoretical Biophysics 406A Nielsen 974-5947 mlavrent@utk.edu
Joon Sue Lee Joon Sue Lee
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 515 Nielsen 974-8705 jslee@utk.edu
Lawrence Lee Lawrence Lee
Assistant Professor
Experimental High Energy Particle Physics 503 Nielsen   llee@utk.edu
lindsay Sean Lindsay
Senior Lecturer/Astronomy Coordinator/Research Assistant Professor
  215 Nielsen 974-2362 slindsay@utk.edu
liu Jian Liu
Associate Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter 217A Nielsen 974-3055 jianliu@utk.edu
madurga Miguel Madurga
Assistant Professor
Experimental Nuclear Physics 407A Nielsen 974-5957 mmadurga@utk.edu
mannella Norman Mannella
Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 210 Nielsen 974-6123 nmannell@utk.edu
mannik Jaan Mannik
Professor
Experimental Biophysics 406B Nielsen 974-6018 jmannik@utk.edu
mezzacappa Anthony Mezzacappa
Newton W. and Wilma C. Thomas Endowed Chair (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics 206 South College/ORNL 974-2621 mezz@utk.edu
moreo Adriana Moreo
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoetical Condensed Matter Physics 303 South College 974-2084 amoreo@utk.edu
nattrass Christine Nattrass
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Program
Experimental Nuclear Physics 609 SERF 974-6211 cnattras@utk.edu
papenbrock Thomas Papenbrock
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 106 South College/ORNL 974-3128 or 574-4577 tpapenbr@utk.edu
parigger Christian Parigger
Associate Professor
Laser, Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics UTSI 931-393-7509 cparigge@tennessee.edu
platter Lucas Platter
Associate Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Nuclear Physics 104 South College 974-4375 lplatter@utk.edu
Nau Raj Pokhrel Nau Raj Pokhrel
Lecturer
  214 Nielsen Physics Building 974-5697 npokhrel@utk.edu
read Kenneth Read
Professor (Joint Faculty)
Experimental Nuclear Physics 309 Nielsen/ORNL 974-3027 or 574-5347 kfread@utk.edu
siopsis George Siopsis
Professor
Director of Quantum Leap Initiative
Theoretical High Energy Physics M104 Nielsen 974-7846 gsiopsis@utk.edu
spanier Stefan Spanier
Professor
Experimental High Energy Physics 607 SERF 974-0597 sspanier@utk.edu
steiner Andrew W. Steiner
Associate Professor (Joint Faculty)
Theoretical Nuclear Astrophysics 103 South College 974-5379 awsteiner@utk.edu
alan tennant David Alan Tennant
Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 233 IAMM 974-4245 dtennant@utk.edu
yishu wang Yishu Wang
Assistant Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 404 Ferris Hall/331 IAMM   wangyishu@utk.edu
weitering Hanno Weitering
Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 306 South College 974-7841 hanno@utk.edu
ruixing zhang Ruixing Zhang
Assistant Professor
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics 203 South College 974-7837 ruixing@utk.edu
zhou Haidong Zhou
Associate Professor
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics 217A Nielsen 974-6019 hzhou10@utk.edu
binghamCarrol Bingham
APS Fellow
cbingham@utk.edu
buggBill Bugg
APS Fellow
bugg@utk.edu
974-7799
callcottThomas Callcott
APS Fellow
tomc@utk.edu
childersBob Childers comptonBob Compton
APS Fellow
AAAS Fellow
rcompton@utk.edu
dauntSteve Daunt
sdaunt@utk.edu
Nielsen 208
974-7847
Stuart ElstonStuart Elston
selston@utk.edu
greene Geoff Greene
APS Fellow
ggreene@utk.edu
Thomas HandlerThomas Handler
thandler@utk.edu
macekJoe Macek
jmacek@utk.edu
parksJames Parks
jeparks@utk.edu
312 Nielsen
974-8952
painterLinda Painter
APS Fellow
lpainter@utk.edu
peggDavid Pegg
APS Fellow
djpegg@utk.edu
lee riedingerLee Riedinger
APS Fellow
AAAS Fellow
lrieding@utk.edu
270 JIAM
sellinIvan Sellin
APS Fellow
shihC.C. Shih
ccshih@utk.edu
sorensen Soren Sorensen
APS Fellow
AAAS Fellow
sorensen@utk.edu
thompsonJim Thompson
APS Fellow
jrt@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.